THE CHALLENGE

Diana Wolosin | Design Systems
6 min readNov 15, 2022

--

Have you ever thought about getting into the trucking technology industry in the United States, while at the same time being a woman, Latina, primarily Spanish speaking, and new to the country?

Welcome to my blog. This is my first article and I’ll begin with a topic which I’ve been pondering about for years. When I initially came to the United States, I was not yet aware about all of the amazing opportunities I could potentially take advantage of. I was originally planning to stay for 18 months, (the duration of my visa) with my sights set on exploring Europe next.

Many extraordinary events (which I will share in a following article) occurred prior to beginning my job as a graphic designer in a truck/logistics technology company. It is also important to note that the company was full of developers, mostly men. There were only 3 women in a company of 30 people, including myself. Yes, it was a start-up then, but now it is an exponentially growing company with more than 150 employees.

As several months passed, I found my working stride, continuously exceeding expectations on assignments and remaining proactive in helping others on my team. I was ultimately able to gain responsibility for a diverse array of tasks and achieve success, However, it was never easy to feel included in the corporate culture. As someone from a starkly different background than the majority of my fellow co-workers, I would say that the lion’s share of the time I felt a gaping cultural dissimilarity. It is never easy to fit into the professional puzzle when you are a puzzle piece from another box, but it is not an insurmountable challenge!

So, how do I deal with the language barrier? To be honest, I still experience struggles with receiving and understanding all the details of English. Personally, I think what saves me is talent and hard work. I have developed a large diverse skill set and the ability to maintain 2 or 3 roles at the same time. I have to say that I was so shy at the beginning because English is my second language and I was ashamed of making mistakes while having a conversation with my co-workers. However, at the end of the day, I’ve learned through experience that native speakers understand you’re going through a learning process and respect that. So, do not be ashamed of your natural accent and never be afraid of voicing your own ideas — especially in a work setting.

Being a woman can also make it difficult to gain respect in the workplace and being a Latina can add an additional complexity to the mix. This has been apparent in several of my experiences, mostly in which I have observed male coworkers quickly establishing a trusting bond between themselves. As a foreigner, things such as inside jokes and cultural phrases can make it increasingly challenging to establish a similar camaraderie in the office. My advice is let your work talk for you. If you have a significant idea, solution, or an amazing project, just go for it! Never let others step on your efforts.

Over the past 2 years, I have learned numerous details and concepts related to technology, trucks and the United States. Thus far, I can assure you that my professional experience in America has been exceptional. I cannot yet claim that I feel 100% confident at work, but it is an ongoing process and something I am getting better at dealing with each day. I will tell you this — I am succeeding in such a way that is unique to my character — I have never seen anyone else do it quite like me, and I am proud of that! It is definitely not an easy process, but I came to this country knowing it was not going to be a piece of cake. Let us eat the entire American cake and keep up the hard work!

If you are a woman and trying to be involved in the Information Technology world, the good news is that there exists a large community of smart and talented women, which you can network with and learn from. If you are a Latin woman, we can start our own community!

Thank you for reading my article. Always trust your skill set and never hesitate to contact me if you have something to share or would like to network.

__________________________________________________________________________

EL RETO

¿Alguna vez ha pensado en entar en la industria de la tecnología de camiones en los Estados Unidos siendo mujer, latina, principalmente hispana, sola y nueva en el país?

Bienvenido/a a mi blog. Este es mi primer artículo y comenzaré con un tema que he tenido en mente desde hace bastante tiempo. Cuando llegué a este país inicialmente, no tenía ni idea de todas las cosas increíbles que yo era capaz de hacer. Incluso estaba planeando quedarme solo 18 meses inicialmente (la duración de mi visa) con mi objetivo de explorar Europa después.

Muchos eventos extraordinarios (que compartiré en un próximo artículo) ocurrieron antes de comenzar mi trabajo trabajando como diseñadora gráfica en una empresa de tecnología para logistica de camiones. También es importante tener en cuenta que la compañía estaba llena de desarrolladores, en su mayoría hombres. Solo había 3 chicas en una compañía de 30 personas, incluyéndome a mí. Sí, era un Start Up, actualmente es una empresa que esta creciendo exponencialmente con más de 150 personas.

A medida que pasaron varios meses, me adapté a un nuevo rítmo de trabajo, logrando continuamente las expectativas de mis superiores y manteniéndome proactiva en ayudar a otras personas de mi equipo. Tuve bastantes responsabilidades en esta empresa, creé nuevos procesos, incluso me gané un premio por mi dedicación y esfuerzo, sin embargo, no fue fácil sentirme incluida en la cultura. Aunque Estados Unidos y Colombia están en el mismo continente, la discrepancia cultural es abismal. Nunca es fácil encajar en un rompecabezas cuando eres parte de un rompecabezas de otra caja, ¡pero no es imposible!

Entonces, ¿cómo voy con el idioma? Para ser sincera, sigo teniendo dificultades para comprender todos los detalles. Personalmente, lo que creo que me salva es el talento y el resultado de mi trabajo. No es por darmelas de mucho café con leche, pero he puesto en práctica un gran conjunto de habilidades y tengo la capacidad de desempeñar 2 o 3 cargos al mismo tiempo. Tengo que decir que al principio era muy tímida porque el inglés es mi segundo idioma y me daba vergüenza cometer errores mientras conversaba con mis compañeros de trabajo. Sin embargo, al final del día, he aprendido por experiencia que los hablantes nativos entienden que estás pasando por un proceso de aprendizaje y lo respetan. Por lo tanto, no te avergüences de tu acento y nunca tengas miedo de expresar sus propias ideas, especialmente en un entorno laboral.

Ser mujer puede dificultar ganar respeto en el lugar de trabajo y ser latina lo hace más difícil aún. Esto ha sido evidente en varias de mis experiencias, principalmente en las que he observado a hombres compañeros de trabajo estableciendo rápidamente un vínculo de confianza entre ellos. He tenido choques culturales en simples cosas como bromas internas y frases culturales durante una conversación con mis compañeros de trabajo, que no tengo ni idea que significan y pueden hacer que sea cada vez más difícil establecer una camaradería similar entre la gente de la oficina. Mi consejo es que tu trabajo hable por ti. Si tienes una idea significativa, una solución o un proyecto increíble, ¡simplemente hazlo! Nunca dejes que otros traten de opacar tus esfuerzos.

En los últimos 2 años, he aprendido numerosos detalles y conceptos relacionados con la tecnología, los camiones, diseño y Estados Unidos. Hasta ahora, puedo asegurarles que mi experiencia profesional aquí ha sido excepcional. Todavía no puedo afirmar que me siento 100% segura en el trabajo, pero es un proceso y algo con lo que estoy mejorando cada día. Te diré esto: he visto muchos chicos exitosos de mi edad, latinos y de todas partes, pero jamás vi a alguien lograr las cosas que yo he logrado de lo forma que lo he hecho, ¡y estoy orgullosa de eso! Definitivamente no es un proceso fácil, pero bueno, vine a este país sabiendo que no iba a ser papitas.

Si tú eres una mujer y estás tratando de involucrarte en el mundo de la Tecnología, la buena noticia es que existe una gran comunidad de mujeres inteligentes y talentosas, con las que puedes conectarte y aprender. Si eres una mujer latina, ¡podemos comenzar nuestra comunidad ahora mismo!

Gracias por leer mi artículo. Confía siempre en tu conjunto de habilidades. Contactame si tienes algo para compartir o si deseas conectar.

Originally published at https://www.linkedin.com.

--

--

Diana Wolosin | Design Systems

A UX Designer formed in Colombia and Spain. Based in San Diego, CA. +8 YOE on Product Design & Design Systems.